Epidermis Dip for Everybody!

Here’s a lil, fun “recipe” I came up with for Al & Al‘s recent housewarming.

Since their party was scheduled a week or so away from Halloween, I decided to take something with a gross/scary/creepy twist.

I got inspiration from the skull I purchased at Walmart for only $10!

I thought to myself, “Man, I wonder what happened to his skin?” That’s when the idea of making an edible dip of “skin” came to me!

And let me tell you, with the animated skull, the look and the texture of the dip, it sure did seem like we were eating epidermis!

So, go ahead, whip up a batch of this simple dip and have some fun (with your food) this Halloween!

Epidermis Dip

Ingredients

  • Tub of your favorite pimento cheese spread. (Or you can make your own.)
  • Scallions, to taste.
  • Red pepper flakes, to taste.
  • Sriracha, to taste.
  • Red food coloring, to achieve desired hue of “epidermis.” I wanted it to be a deep, “bloody” red, but the pink had a much creepier effect!

Directions

  • Mix all ingredients together, at least a day before serving.
  • Keep refrigerated until serving.
  • Serve at room temperature with your favorite crackers.
  • Also could be served with torn up bread pieces.

Hit of the party! Photo lovingly taken from Allison, who lovingly took it from Alex.

The video wasn’t shot properly, but you’ll get the idea…

~ by Maureen on October 31, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
