What’s Your Story?

Daily Hope
Sometimes God says ‘not yet’
By Rick Warren


“You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised. For in just a very little while, “He who is coming will come and will not delay.”
Hebrews 10:36-37 (NIV)
If you’re discouraged because of God’s delay in answering your prayers, understand the delay is NOT a denial. Just because the answer or the miracle hasn’t come – yet – that doesn’t mean God isn’t going to answer or that he’s forgotten you or that he doesn’t care about you. It simply means “not yet!”
Part of becoming spiritually mature is learning the difference between “no” and “not yet,” between a denial and a delay. The Bible tells us, “He who is coming will come and will not delay” (Hebrews 10:37 NIV).
God’s delay may be a test of your patience. Anybody can be patient once. And, most people can be patient twice. And, a lot of us can be patient three times. So God tests our patience over and over and over.
Why? So he can see how patient you are? No!
He does it so you can see how patient you are. So you’ll know what’s inside you, and you’ll be able to know your level of commitment. God tests you so that you can know he is faithful, even if the answers you seek are delayed.
If you’re discouraged, turn it around by remembering God teaches you patience during delay. Ask him to transform your discouragement into patience.
You may be going through difficult times right now. You’re discouraged because the situation you face seems unmanageable, unreasonable, or unfair.
It may seem unbearable and inside you’re basically saying, “God, I can’t take it anymore. I just can’t take it anymore!”
But you can.
You can stay with it longer because God is with you. He’ll enable you to press on. Remember, you are never a failure until you quit. Resist discouragement and finish the race God has set before you.
*********

I needed this message more than ever in my life now.

What struck me most were the words: So God tests our patience over and over and over. Why? So he can see how patient you are? No! He does it so you can see how patient you are.”

I think as humans, at least I fall into this category, we forget that all of the stuff that we go through really is not about Him, but about us.

He’s not the one who needs character building. We do.

A pastor once said, we tend to forget that as we go through life, we are actually living/acting out our very own “Bible story.” Just like our forefathers, Abraham, David, Joseph, Noah, etc., our stories are being documented. Who knows, years from now, someone will be reading our stories just like we are reading the stories of those in the Bible.

We marvel at the faith of Abraham, the courage of Noah and the wisdom of Joseph and say to ourselves, “Wow. They were so strong in God. How did they manage? I wish I could have faith like that.” But here’s the thing, we tend to forget that while those great men of faith were actually living out their lives, going through their trials and tribulations, they struggled. Just like you and I struggle, as we face our day-to-day mountains of despair, disappointment, hurt, pain, fear, hopelessness, hope, love, peace, joy, the good & the bad. What makes these men’s stories memorable is how they reacted to those mountains. And their faith in God.

Because no matter what they faced, their love and faith in God persevered.

And so, when it came to documenting their story, it read like this: “Noah did everything just as God commanded him.”; “Abram believed the LORD, and he credited it to him as righteousness.”; “Joseph said, ‘How then could I do such a wicked thing and sin against God?'”

When we go through our struggles, it’s hard to remember and realize that our stories are being written by God.

All I know is that I want my story to be as great as Abraham, Noah, Joseph, David and the rest.

I want my story to read…

“Maureen kept the faith and loved God more than anything. She was not discouraged. Maureen endured. And the Lord was pleased with Maureen.”

How do you want your story to read?

It’s all up to you.

~ by Maureen on August 24, 2010.

2 Responses to “What’s Your Story?”

  1. Maureen- This REALLY spoke to me today! I just came to the end of a long journey of unemployment. So many times, I cried out to God “WHY! Why do I have to keep going through this!”

    Today, I think I found my answer. So that I would know, without a doubt, that this great victory that I have experienced could ONLY have happened because of Him.

    God raised me up so much farther than I ever could have imagined going on my own. I have NO CHOICE but to praise Him for letting me go through the struggles and trials it took to get me here.

    On another note, I am really looking forward to meeting you at the Raise the Roof 5k, and thanks so much for all your help promoting it for us. CHYP thanks you! 🙂

    • ironically, my current unemployment situation (among other things in my life) was really the inspiration for this post, as i’m now going on almost a year of not working.

      it’s been very frustrating to say the least. so Rick Warren’s message really spoke to me as well.

      congrats on your new employment and i look forward to meeting you/running the 5K as well!

Leave a Reply

 
