American & Indian Go Camping: Losing My Virginity

I can’t believe that I’ve lived [almost] 31 years of life here on this earth and I’ve never been camping before.

What’s wrong with me?

Thought I was a self-proclaimed nature lover?

So how come I’ve never been roughing it in the outdoors like Daniel Boone did?

What gives?!

I thought long and hard about it and I concluded that I can blame my non-Boone experience all on two things: 1. my parents and 2. on India.

You see, Indians don’t go camping, and my Indian parents never took me or the sis camping.

It’s not part of our collective culture.

We’d rather be stuffing our faces and bellies with the delicious foods that come outta of our kitchens…and getting married.

And since I’m such a rebellious, psycho Indian chic, I intend on breaking all cultural taboos/barriers/stereotypes.

That’s just how I roll.

So, on Friday, I lost my camping virginity at Stonelick State Park.

And the boo helped me lose it.

Oh, and so did a 100 other Vineyard campers.

What can I say? My man sure knows how to pitch a tent! πŸ™‚

Being the over-ambitious foodie that I am, I was determined to fire up the grill our first night and cook dinner on our lil portable grill. It wasn’t anything fancy, just veggie burgers and fixins, which included baked beans, potato salad and all the mandatory burger condiments. You know the mark of a really great veggie burger? When Adam actually eats an entire one…and actually likes it. Kudos to you Morning Star and your black bean burgers! Kudos to you.

After filling our bellies, it was onto dessert and when you are camping, dessert=smores.

We both aren’t really smores fans, but since we [translation, me] were into carrying out every single camping cliche, we decided to build our own fire and roast marshmallows. We definitely wouldn’t win any scout badges for fire building, since we couldn’t keep our initial fire burning, but thanks to our campsite neighbor, Roger, we ended our night with sticky, sweet, slightly burnt, marshmallow goodness…and some smores!

Our first night in our tent palace was pretty sweet, though sometime in the wee morning hours, I awoke to a scratching sound that I swore was someone trying to come into our tent. As our noses told us, it wasn’t a serial killer trying to hack us to death, but instead, a skunk that was trying to get into the trash bag hanging outside of our tent’s front flap. Pissed that his/her efforts of scoring some yummy human campsite food trash had been thwarted, he/she sprayed our tent in frustration! Lemme tell ya, there’s nothing like trying to fall back asleep at 3 a.m. inside a tent, as you try not to suffocate from breathing skunk perfume in/and breathing only through your mouth. Fun times!

We had all intention of having a fun weekend roughing it, but exactly at 8 a.m. on Saturday morning, the heavens opened up and the Noah-like rains started.

We thought that we’d be able to stick the rain out, but it didn’t stop coming down (literally rained for hours) and our tent’s roof started caving under all the fast accumulating water and started leaking and flooding our comfy, dry palace.

And while I felt like a wussy for packing up and leaving early, I wasn’t going to chance staying out in the inclement weather, especially after hearing about the Arkansas campsite tragedy.

And even though I was pissed/disappointed that I would’t be able to execute my campsite breakfast extravaganza for Adam (scrambled eggs, toast, coffee and all!), I was grateful that we survived the night/morning and we were able to get out safely and uneventfully.

So the real question is, will this Indian go camping again?

Abso-friggin-lutely!

But next time, it’ll be during a weekend that Mother Nature decides to play nice.

~ by Maureen on June 16, 2010.

5 Responses to “American & Indian Go Camping: Losing My Virginity”

  1. Great looking tents and nice setting. Nice food and fire roasting pics. I’m hungry now.

    I went camping once, in the late 1970’s. Sans tent and w sleeping bag only. Basic elements in woods, no nearby restrooms or running water. It was at place where I took riding lessons & kept a horse. So we knew the area. NEVA AGAIN. It was gorgeous to wake up in the morning to the pastoral setting, sunlight streaming through the trees AND the world’s LARGEST daddy long legs was 5 inches in front of my nose. Yea, I’m a wimp. I like soft mattresses, running water, flush toilets — age showing now,but who am I kidding? Was always like that. My idea of camping would be a hotel room w/o cable. πŸ˜€

    YOU also had great setting it appeared and I laughed at your skunk story. Skunk smell in the distance & and the PUNGENT direct spray up close to you is like two different animals. πŸ™‚

    Also for s’mores, I don’t like them as they are too sweet. Substitute semi sweet dark chocolate for the normal Hershey bar so they aren’t so sickening sweet, or bitter chocolate chips. My camping tip for the decade.

    Enjoyed the pictures. Glad you got home safe & look forward to the next outing.

    Sophia

    p.s. I still love NATURE & critters…just don’t want to sleep in it/or with them…except my cat kids.

  2. ha sophia! you’re a riot!

    i dunno if i could really rough it like you did, but i’d like to try…one day.

    thanks for the smores tips and thanks for reading/commenting!

  3. […] Based on the post that got the most Twitter/Facebook response/reaction to date, American & Indian Go Camping: Losing My Virginity… […]

  4. Wait a second… you go to VCC? ME TOO! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
