The Art of Caramelizing Onions

For the #CRGTailgateTweetup2, I decided to make caramelized onions as one of the fixins for the grilled crostinis I had planned on serving.

I went down that Thursday to Daisy Mae’s Market at Findlay Market for the onions. I was hoping to run into the tweeting face of the company, Barb, but she actually has a day job and wasn’t there. And here I thought that tweeting from the market was her full-time job! Who knew?!

Instead, I had the privilege of meeting Barb’s husband, Barry.

Barry was extremely helpful in ensuring I got the best onions. I was hoping for Vidalia onions, but since they weren’t quite in season, Barry assured me that their sweet white/yellow onions would do just fine as substitutes.

This wasn’t the first time I’ve made caramelized onions, but it was the first time I made them with a foodie/blogger perspective. There was no way I wasn’t going to document this process.

All I did was chop the onions (six soft-ball sized bulbs) finely, put in pan with enough olive oil to coat the bottom of pan, and cooked them on medium heat.

Start to finish, the whole process took about two hours for the onions to completely caramelize without burning.

It was fun watching the onions, literally falling out of the pan in the beginning, gradually reduce as the minutes ticked by. It was definitely cooking-is-science happening right before my eyes!

At the end, I seasoned liberally with salt, to offset the incredible sweetness of the onions.

Let me tell you folks, a mess of these piled on a grilled crostini with some melted asiago…was just simply divine.

*Note to self: Next time, make them for the base of a vegetarian French onion soup.*


~ by Maureen on April 29, 2010.

3 Responses to “The Art of Caramelizing Onions”

  1. what about the peppers?
    Those were incredible too.

  2. I could eat an entire pan of carmelized onions all by myself. Those + crostini + asiago sounds AMAZING!! Will definitely have to try it out 🙂

  3. Great post! I love the pictures (even Barry’s!) Just to clarify: Daisy Mae’s is owned by brothers Barry and Jeff Cooper. I’m just a “worker bee” (yes, Barry’s wife) doing my best to get the word out about all Findlay Market and Daisy Mae’s Market have to offer.
    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

 
