A Sea of Pinwheels…and Hope

Happened to be on UC’s campus on Tuesday and stopped in my tracks at the sight of a sea of spinning blue & silver pinwheels (in Burnet Woods Park, the side facing Martin Luther King Dr.)

Curious as to why they were there, I turned to Twitter to find out why. And as I took pictures of what I thought was going to end up being just another blog photo opp, my Tweeps gave me the somber reason of why exactly the pinwheels where there.

Since April is National Child Abuse Prevention Month, Pinwheels for Prevention introduced the pinwheel as the new symbol for child abuse and neglect prevention nationwide.

According to the site, “the pinwheel represents Prevent Child Abuse America’s efforts to change the way our nation thinks about prevention, focusing on community activities and public policies that prioritize prevention right from the start to make sure child abuse and neglect never occur.

Nearly 900,000 pinwheels have been displayed since April 2008.”

As I walked by the rows of hundreds of pinwheels fluttering in the wind, my mood changed. I experienced a roller coaster of emotions – starting with awe over what a glorious day it was and how magnificent the sun and wind moved over the pinwheels – but ending with a deep sadness and anger over the cause behind the pinwheels.

“Why God? Why do you “allow” children to be abused? Isn’t Matthew 18 a metaphor about how much you love and care for us and children? Where were the angels of these children who were abused?” I just don’t understand how God can forgive someone who abuses a defenseless child. I just don’t get it. It’s a question that I struggle constantly with in my prayers to God.

I took a moment, to kneel in the grass and say a prayer for all the children of the world, those represented before me by the pinwheels and those who weren’t.

I may never understand why someone would hurt a child. I may never understand why God allows it to happen. But as I stood there watching the pinwheels, I got the whole point of the display…

To make sure people don’t forget, to make sure something gets done about it and to remind everyone that there is hope…to make a child’s life as carefree, innocent, playful and beautiful as a pinwheel fluttering in the wind on a beautiful, sunny spring day.

Click here to learn more about Pinwheels for Prevention.

~ by Maureen on April 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
